I just received a rather strange message from a friend on my MSN contact list. Naturally I was suspicious about any messages containing a misspelled .info domain and it seems my suspicions were correct about this one.
The site in question is pooop.info. You visit that site and enter your details at your own risk, although I highly advise that you do not enter your MSN account details anywhere except the Windows Live Messenger sign-in window.
The message I received looked something like this:
PARTY PARTY PARTY
http://[your friend's email account (the part before the @)].pics.pooop.info
The message other users are receiving may vary, so be vigilant.
So what’s the premise of this latest scam? A user basically voluntarily enters their MSN account details (email AND password) on the proviso they’re going to see their friend’s photos. The site is employing the tactic of a social networking site - sign-up to see your friend’s photos and it seems to be working. What most users don’t realise is that the fine print is spelled out clearly in their terms and conditions - which are linked in perfect sight above the sign-in box on the pooop.info website. Here’s the interesting part, their Terms & Conditions:
By filling out this form, you authorize TST Management, Inc to spread the word
about this 100% real and upcomming Messenger Community Site.
You will receive your share of the credit in helping us spread the word. This is a harmless
Community site which is offering users a platform to meet each other for free.
We do not share your private information with any third parties.
By using our service/website you hereby fully authorize TST Management, Inc to send messages
of a commercial nature via Instant Messages and E-Mails on behalf of third parties via the information
you provide us. This is not a “phishing” site that attempts to “trick” you into revealing personal
information. Everything we do with your information is disclosed here. If you are under eighteen (18),
you MUST obtain permission from a parent or guardian before using our website/service.
This page is not affiliated with or operated by Microsoft(tm) or MSN Network(tm).
ANY LIABILITY, INCLUDING WITHOUT LIMITATION ANY LIABILITY FOR DAMAGES CAUSED OR
ALLEGEDLY CAUSED BY ANY FAILURE OF PERFORMANCE, ERROR, OMISSION, INTERRUPTION, DEFECT,
DELAY IN OPERATION OR TRANSMISSION, COMMUNICATIONS LINE FAILURE, SHALL BE STRICTLY LIMITED
TO THE AMOUNT PAID BY OR ON BEHALF OF THE SUBSCRIBER TO THIS SERVICE.
We may temporarily access your MSN account to do a combination
of the following:
1. Send Instant Messages to your friends promoting this site.
2. Introduce new entertaining sites to your friends via Instant Messages.
This is a free service. You will not be asked to pay at any time.
You will not be subscribed to anything asking for payment.
This service is made possible by many hours of human effort.
Messenger Profiles, Inc reserves the right to change the terms of use / privacy policy
at any time without notice. To view the latest version of this privacy policy,
simply bookmark this page for future reference.
You understand that this agreement shall prevail if there is any conflict between this
agreement and the terms of use you accepted when you signed up with MSN. You also
understand that by temporarily accessing your msn account, Messenger Profiles, Inc
is NOT agreeing to MSN’s terms of use and therefore not bound by them.
This agreement shall be construed and governed by the law of the Republic of Panama.
You expressly consent to the exclusive venue and personal
jurisdiction of the courts located in the Republic of Panama
for any actions arising from or relating to this agreement.
Copyright 2008 TST Management, Inc
I bolded the interesting part - your account may be accessed to spread the word - I believe it should say ‘your account WILL be accessed’ because that’s exactly what’s happening. You may also notice that the T&Cs are governed by the laws of Panama. I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t give my MSN login details to anyone, especially a site in Panama. But alas, here’s where it gets even more interesting. A whois of the site
reveals the site is actually owned by a group in Hong Kong called Blue China Group, Ltd.
I wanted to see if the site was actually real in it’s claims, so I signed up for a dummy hotmail account… I entered the account details perfectly and what do you know? ‘Login failed’. Where are the photos I was promised? It seems that they’re just harvesting more and more email accounts that most likely be used for spam. They say they’re not a phishing site, and technically they aren’t because the Terms & Conditions plainly state your account will be accessed by TST management (there’s another discrepancy in the company’s details. What ever happened to Panama and the Blue China Group?) but I wish people would just be more careful about what they do with their information.
So spread the word to your friends not to give out their sign-in information to ANYONE, especially pooop.info. Halt the spread of this site and hopefully stop the potentially tens of thousands spam emails that will result from it.
Update: The obvious solution to this problem seems to be to change your account’s password. It seems this harvesting scam is starting to snowball, so be vigilant. Just to reiterate, don’t EVER give out your MSN account’s password. SEE UPDATE #3 BELOW
Update #2: Thanks to the comment of a reader known as ‘d’, another website, srys.info, has been uncovered which is run by the same group of shameless scammers. A whois of the domain yields the same results as the whois of pooop.info. Thanks d!
Update #3: After reading around on the internet, some say this problem is actually a virus (probably a remade version of the ‘Should I put this picture of us on MySpace?’ and then your friend would send you a .zip file). I don’t think it’s a virus at all but I will try to find out. For now, stay vigilant and remind your friends to read this article if they are affected by the problem.
Update #4 (March 26): This article has gotten quite a bit of attention around the internet, including a news story on mess.be. Just an update on the list of sites that you may be linked to include:
rkntbp.info, vnxpkf.info, yzxvsn.info, jcyhzr.info, vnxpkf.info, xrsnbt.info, dytgms.info, qpcbkt.info, yqbzfj.info, yxwzmq.info, psnkcq.info, sxwmkr.info, tqxycj.info, wcmbsj.info, rhqwcp.info, qmnfct.info, rsbkdg.info, zjdgxq.info, mxbpkr.info, xjctsp.info, rhqwcp.info, mgtwdn.info, kfytsj.info, dsbpzg.info, gmnzby.info, dbnyzc.info, jcyhzr.info, dsbpzg.info, dbnyzc.info, bzjnxd.info, zjdgxq.info, qvsgwy.info, cdystp.info, hmybqw.info, yvmjzc.info, vmytks.info, nhcswv.info, ztmrcj.info, wkfbmt.info, fvkgcz.info, zcxrjb.info, jtyqkv.info, xhzsrg.info, hqnxmv.info, srbgxz.info, pghzvq.info, bgpmwr.info, ndkzcy.info, tpyhzx.info, etc…
It seems that most of the info domains now use skaq.info as the main site and are simply just ‘mirroring’ skaq.info (it is the same site just under a different domain). Continue to be wary of such sites.
Update #5 (April 24): So here I am again updating this article because the face of the threat has changed, yet again, in an attempt to trick more users. It seems they’ve started to use more logical domains (as reported by users in the comments) such as imagehosters.info and friendpixer.com. I believe this will catch more users out, so once again I reiterate DO NOT ENTER YOUR ACCOUNT DETAILS ANYWHERE OTHER THAN YOUR MSN CLIENT. I appreciate your updates in the comments on the different sites, etc. Keep them coming! Note some comments are being pushed into the moderation queue as spam - don’t worry, I check these and get them approved as quickly as possible. There is no need to resubmit your comment.
Help to spread the word by Digging this story.
If you liked this post, buy me a coffee!